Blues SRTT21

Super Rugby Pacific

Super Rugby Pacific is a professional domestic competition featuring the Blues, Chiefs, Hurricanes, Crusaders and Highlanders and referees from New Zealand.

The current two-round home-away format was set up in 2020 when the previous regional format involving teams from South Africa, Australia and Argentina was disrupted by COVID-19 and replaced by domestic competitions.

The teams compete for the Tū Kōtahi Aotearoa trophy, created for the competition by Otaki carver Bill Doyle and won by the Crusaders during the inaugural season.

The five Super Rugby Pacific teams are part-owned by New Zealand Rugby and when originally set up, were run by boards representing the Provincial Unions that make up each Super Rugby catchment. Reviews into the financial sustainability and structure of Super Rugby and its five clubs identified the need to reinvigorate the franchise model and provide for additional investment to improve its financial sustainability.

Click here to apply for Media Accrediation

Click here to view the Media Pack

Super Rugby Pacific Teams

New Zealand has five teams playing in Super Rugby Pacific (from north to south):

Expressions of interest for Super Rugby Licences

Expressions of interest were called for in December 2011 for four of the five licences. The Highlanders were not part of the original process, although NZR commenced the process for the Highlanders in 2014.

Super Rugby Licensee responsibilities

A Super Rugby Licensee’s responsibilities include:

  • management of the team both on-field and off-field including, the professional development for members of the squad
  • marketing promotion of matches and the team
  • the Licensee will retain predominantly gate and some sponsorship income and pay administration, additional coaching and management staff, training facilities, match operations, and marketing costs.

New Zealand Rugby will:

  • retain ownership of the brands associated with each team
  • continue to fund player and coach contracts from centralised broadcasting and sponsorship revenue.
  • continue to pay all travel and accommodation costs associated with the regular season (excluding playoffs) through SANZAAR